## Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Special Meeting May 2, 2018, 3:30 PM Building 12 – Board Room

## MINUTES

## **Board Members**

Bob Ryan James Curtis Gretchen Adams Lois Bernstein Liz Dunbar

# Administrators/Staff/StudentsIvan HarrellRick BradySonja MorganSam AhmaMarcel AugustinClarisa LeeJohn FalskowAmunoo TAnne LymanMary ChikeMarcia MoeKelly Maxf

Rick Brady Sam Ahmad Clarisa Leu-Rodriguez Amunoo Tembo Mary Chikwinya Kelly Maxfield

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Board Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m.

# II. ELLEN PINTO OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD

Interviews and Selection – Nominations for three students, Sam Ahmad, Marcel Augustin, and Clarisa Leu-Rodriguez, were submitted to the Board. The three students were individually interviewed by the Trustees and asked the same questions.

The Board discussed the responses of the candidates to determine which nominee would receive the Outstanding Student of the Year Award. The award recipient will receive a plaque and \$1,000 and the two other finalists will each receive a certificate and a monetary award of \$500 at the Student Awards Ceremony on May-15, 2018.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board Chair **Ryan**, the Board granted the Ellen Pinto Student of the Year Award to Marcel Augustin.

# III. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:11 p.m.